Sierra Outdoor School Experience

Pictured: Angel Mendoza at Outdoor School Camp - Photo Courtesy of Angel Mendoza

Pictured: Angel Mendoza at Outdoor School Camp – Photo Courtesy of Angel Mendoza

Well, I am back with another blog.  I have something good to talk about.  I’ve taken a three-day trip to a place called Sierra Outdoor School.  When I arrived, I was excited about how it would look inside all of the buildings.  The boy’s dorm had eight steel bunks, a mattress about as thick as a gymnastics mat, showers with a curtain, and a decent sized bathroom.  As I would imagine, the same went for the girl’s dorm.  I did quite a lot of things in the school.  I built shelters, dissected owl pellets, made arrowheads, and did so much more.  I loved how the teachers and staff were so kind to us in Sonora.  I also liked the old historic gold mining town of Columbia.  But before that, I went to a place called Mercer Caverns and went about 160 feet down into the Earth’s surface.  If I could go back I would!

Angel

Leave a Reply

