My Wrestling Adventures

Pictured: Angel Mendoza -- Photo Courtesy of KMPH/KFRE/Fox26

Pictured: Angel Mendoza — Photo Courtesy of KMPH/KFRE/Fox26

Hi everyone,

Wrestling has been going great with Coach Blanco! I’ve gone to a lot of tournaments, and my brother “Itchy” is wrestling with me. I took 3rd place in my last tournament. I wrestled in four matches that day. I have a wrestling pal and he always stays by my side the whole time at the match. He gives me tips and helps me feel confident. Nick King from KMPH (a local station) did an interview with me and my family and came to one of my matches to videotape me. He put it all on TV. It made me feel great! Nick is a nice guy and it’s really good for him to acknowledge blind athletes.

I also bowled with my dad last week. It was his last game of the league. I call it his ‘night out’. Bowling and wrestling are the same because they require strength, but wrestling is a little more challenging. I like bowling as much as wrestling and I hope I get to go with my dad again soon!

See you later,
Angel

P.S. Here’s the link to the news story by Nick:

http://kmph-kfre.com/sports/local-sports/being-blind-cant-stop-this-young-wrestler

Leave a Reply

