The Start of My Art

Pictured: (l-r) Avery Crivello with Lisa Okikawa, DCYS Chairperson at the San Francisco Airport Marriott -- Photo courtesy of Nora Crivello

Pictured: (l-r) Avery Crivello with Lisa Okikawa, DCYS Chairperson at the San Francisco Airport Marriott — Photo courtesy of Nora Crivello

Dear CTEBVI Friends,

My name is Avery Crivello. Thank you for giving me the $500 scholarship. I can’t wait to use it to get better art supplies and start making art. I am really excited!

I got to go to the CTEBVI conference brunch on Sunday, March 12th and sit with Lisa Okikawa. She gave me the Donna Coffee Youth Scholarship with my TVI Dr. Sonja Biggs in front of a lot of people! Lisa was really nice!

Pictured: (l-r) Dr. Sonja Biggs, Avery Crivello with Lisa Okikawa, DCYS Chairperson at the San Francisco Airport Marriott -- Photo courtesy of Nora Crivello

Pictured: (l-r) Dr. Sonja Biggs, Avery Crivello with Lisa Okikawa, DCYS Chairperson at the San Francisco Airport Marriott — Photo courtesy of Nora Crivello

My mom bought me some art supplies to start practicing with. I was trying new techniques and painting with spoons instead of brushes. I got the idea from Jeff Hansen who is a blind artist and uses spoons with his acrylic paints. I used spoons instead of forks because forks would probably tear the canvas. My painting had lots of fun stuff on it and I liked it so much that I named it “Surprise Party”. I asked my mom to hang it in the living room. I think next I want to try painting with bricks.

When I went to my teacher – Dr. Sonja Biggs’s- house, she had a painting that her friend made her that was called ‘tactile art’. Tactile art means that you can use three dimensional objects into the art so that you can feel it. I think I want to try and make some tactile art as well and put it in my art studio.

Over the next month I want to practice painting with different techniques. I might try to put paint into a water balloon and throw it against the canvas to make a big splat of paint. Then I can make the splat into something, or maybe leave it alone because it might look cool.

I want to thank my mom for buying me art supplies to practice and my teacher, Sonja, for the art table. I would like to thank the CTEBVI for the Donna Coffee Scholarship. See you next month!

Avery

One thought on “The Start of My Art

  1. This is so exciting! I’d love to see any photos of your art you have worked on already…spoon art sounds so fascinating.

    Like

Leave a Reply

