Exit Interview – Chris Serrano

As the 2016 Donna Coffee Youth Scholarship blogs comes to an end, we thought we’d find out what the experience has been like for our recipients so we asked Chris & Mario to share their thoughts in this fun CTEBVI “exit interview”! 

Are you excited to find out who our 2017 recipient(s) are?!  Check back here or on any of our social media sites when we make our announcement on Sunday, March 12!

Chris Serrano – Exit Interview

Pictured: Chris Serrano with his bass clarinet -- Photo courtesy of: Chris Serrano

Pictured: Chris Serrano with his bass clarinet — Photo courtesy of: Chris Serrano

How did you feel when you won the scholarship?
When I won the scholarship, I was super excited! I immediately began planning how I would go about getting my new instrument and could hardly wait to begin shopping.

What did you use the scholarship money for this year?
I used the scholarship money to buy myself a bass clarinet.

What did you learn and why was it important?
Purchasing the clarinet was important to me because I had been wanting one for a long time but could not scrape together enough money to buy it. So when I won the scholarship, I finally had enough to begin looking around.

How do you feel now that your year as the DCYS recipient is over?
I can hardly believe that the year is almost over! It feels like just a couple months ago when I won the scholarship. How time flies when you’re having fun.

What are three words you can use to describe this experience?
Amazing, grateful, and life-changing

What was your highlight about this year?
The highlight of this year was when I received the package in the mail. I felt so good opening the box and finding a brand new bass clarinet with my name on it.

What did you learn about yourself since receiving the scholarship?
I learned that being a musician allowed me to apply different techniques to all new instruments and have equally good results.

What advice would you give to future DCYS recipients?
Make the most out of your money and enjoy it as much as you can.

What will you miss the most about the blog?
I will miss reflecting on the past months, sharing my latest events, and reading about the awesome adventures that Mario posts.

What do you want people to know about you?
I want people to know that even though I’m blind, I do not let this prevent me from achieving my goals.

Anything else you would like to share?
Thank you again to the DCYS for being so awesome

You have so many fans who want to know what you’re doing and what you’re up to. We would love to contact you from time to time to update us and we’ll post it to our social media accounts. Is this ok?
Yes!

Leave a Reply

