Time Flies When You’re Having Fun

Pictured: Chris with tour guide -- Photo courtesy of Chris Serrano

Pictured: Chris with tour guide — Photo courtesy of Chris Serrano

2017 is proving to be a great year! I was recently able to get the Sonar CakeTalking studio software for my computer and I will be working with the program in the after-school Sound  Recording class. When I get the audio interface and mixer, I will be able to record external instruments and add them to any projects I am currently working on. I am looking forward to learning how to efficiently and independently compose, produce, and mix my own songs using the software.

Pictured: Helen Keller and Anne Sullivan Macy's niche which reads: "Helen Keller and her lifelong companion Anne Sullivan Macy are interred in the columbarium behind this chapel" both in print and in braille -- Photo by: Chris Serrano

Pictured: Helen Keller and Anne Sullivan Macy’s niche which reads: “Helen Keller and her lifelong companion Anne Sullivan Macy are interred in the columbarium behind this chapel” both in print and in braille — Photo by: Chris Serrano

I still haven’t gotten over my trip to the Capital. People are still asking me questions about what I did! I visited all the monuments and memorials located on the Capital Mall, including the Library of Congress, the Supreme Court, and the Capital Building itself. In addition, I also got my own personal, hands-on tour of the National Cathedral where I visited Helen Keller’s final resting place; her gravestone was in braille which was awesome because I could read it. At Arlington National Cemetery, I visited three presidential tombs and got to witness the changing of the guard over the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. We also toured a few museums and we attended the women’s march to the White House the day after going to the Inauguration ceremony. The flight back home was insane; our plane had to fly through the storm over LA to land which turned out to be quite exciting.
I had a hotel room all to myself. This included a kingsize bed, 60-inch flat screen TV, mini bar, and a huge bathtub. The room was also equipped with a microwave and fridge that I used often for late night snacks. The thing I miss the most about that room was having my bed magically remade for me every day.

When I got back from Washington, I learned in my jazz band that the music department will be working together with the theater department to put on a show that is supposed to be based on the history of Culver City. The jazz ensemble has volunteered to provide background music. We are currently learning a lot of music that was made famous in movies filmed at MGM and Sonny studios.

I can hardly believe that the year is almost up. How the time flies. Thank you to the Donna Coffee foundation for allowing me to buy my bass clarinet.

Chris

Leave a Reply

