High Hopes for a New Year

Pictured: Chris Serrano with guitar -- Photo courtesy of Chris Serrano

Pictured: Chris Serrano with guitar — Photo courtesy of Chris Serrano

I am confident that 2017 will be a great year. Already, January was packed with many exciting adventures. Last week, I traveled to Washington DC with my school to go see President Elect Donald Trump be officially sworn into office. This once-in-a-lifetime trip was paid for by the school and provided several opportunities to visit and enjoy historical sights as well as the chance to be a part of the truly monumental inauguration. I also got to meet many other students from all over the country who went on the trip. In addition, this trip provided me a solid excuse for missing a whole week of school! Going on this trip was an excellent way to start the year after a wonderful, but not long enough, winter vacation from school. I took advantage of my two-week break off of school, during which I caught up on sleeping and found ample time to practice my music and learn new songs. You know I had too much time on my hands because I can now play some tunes by Metallica on my clarinet as easily as on guitar. Although, making the transition from vacation back to the regular routine was pretty hard.

In addition to exciting trips and awesome vacations, I’ve also begun to make the long journey toward college preparation. Since my greatest wish is to get into Berklee School of Music, my teachers at the Academy of Music for the Blind have all enthusiastically agreed to help me work toward achieving the set entrance requirements. And although this will mean lots of long and boring work and not much playing this year, the results will be worth the time. I will be learning all of the different scale modes, a bit of music theory, transposing, as well as continuing to work on my improvisation skills.
I am looking forward to an awesome start to a great year. Wishing Mario a happy new year and

hoping he is well.
Chris

Leave a Reply

