Amazing Musical Summer

Pictured: Chris Serrano with his bass clarinet -- Photo courtesy of: Chris Serrano

Pictured: Chris Serrano with his bass clarinet — Photo courtesy of: Chris Serrano

I had a very memorable summer and part of the reason it was so special was because I was able to purchase my bass clarinet with the help of the Donna Coffee Youth Scholarship! Buying the instrument was such a positive step forward in my music career. Just two weeks ago I performed for the very first time with my bass clarinet on stage during a show that I did at the Academy of Music for the Blind. All of my other friends and teachers, apart from me, simply adore my newest instrument; it is a truly wonderful addition to the list of instruments I currently play. I am especially happy with this purchase because I got it for an incredible deal on E-Bay.

Just today, I auditioned to rejoin the Jazz Ensemble at school. I am happy to say that I made it and will now be officially a part of the tenor saxophone section. I also made into the second Jazz Combo band where I will improve on my abilities to improvise a solo. I will also have the chance to switch between instruments (drums and bass clarinet). The Combo is regularly scheduled to play gigs and, in some cases, members of the band are paid! Finally, I also joined the Sound Recording class here at school. In this class, I learn how to compose my own pieces as well as familiarize myself with the latest recording technology available.
Apart from purchasing my bass clarinet this summer, I also got my very first job. I worked at a kid’s camp at the park near my house as a sort of activity director during the last half of June. It was an amazing experience! I really enjoyed it because I was basically being paid to play games and eat lunch all day. I made some really awesome new friends with my co-workers. Also, one of my co-workers was a friend of mine that I met in Jazz Ensemble; being able to work together was another major factor that contributed to the once in a lifetime first experience.
During the last week of break, I went to camp Ronald McDonald for Good Times. We went on an overnight backpacking trip to sleep outside beneath the stars and have a good time. We also did several activities such as fishing, playing sports/games, and swimming. It was great to be able to make new friends and see friends from previous sessions.
Overall, my summer was a huge success for me. Now that I have my bass clarinet, I am looking forward to a bright musical future. Thank you so much for choosing me to be the winner of this scholarship. You have no idea how happy I am having been able to finally purchase my instrument.
One thought on “Amazing Musical Summer

Leave a Reply

