School’s Out For the Summer!

Pictured: Mario Chitwood at his 6th grade promotion -- Picture courtesy of Mario Chitwood

Pictured: Mario Chitwood at his 6th grade promotion — Picture courtesy of Mario Chitwood

On Friday June 3, I had the pleasure of being chosen as one of two student speakers at my 6th grade promotion. It was nice to be able to thank all the teachers and staff at my school and to wish all my 6th grade peers well in the next chapter of their lives. I was sad to be leaving a school that I had attended since Kindergarten but I’m looking forward to starting middle school, where I hope to start a chess club. To celebrate my promotion to middle school, my family took me to one of my favorite sushi restaurants, where I filled up on California rolls and shrimp tempura rolls.

Another exciting event I recently participated in was a cooking/game day with my T.V.I, my new mobility instructor and a few other students who are blind. Our menu consisted of hamburgers, mashed potatoes, fruit salad, and strawberry shortcake with homemade whipped cream! I was in charge of cutting the potatoes, strawberries, kiwis, and I got to make the homemade whipped cream. Making the whipped cream was my favorite because it was delicious and easy to make. All I had to do was add heavy whipping cream, powdered sugar, a little bit of vanilla extract into a magic bullet and blend it until it was the right consistency. My other favorite part of this day besides making the whipped cream was playing an adapted version of Jeopardy. I watch this game show with my family every night and hope to one day make it as a contestant on the real Jeopardy. But for now, it was fun playing and just pretending it was an official game. We played in pairs and my partner was my mom. We started out doing great but then we started trailing behind. Although we didn’t win we had lots of fun because our game show host would trigger a booing sound effect when we got incorrect answers and he would trigger a clapping sound effect when our answers were right. This was a fun day and a great way to kick off my summer vacation.

I have many things to look forward to during my summer vacation. I will be attending three different camps, traveling to Los Angeles to visit the California Science Center, having lots of swim playdates with friends, and possibly going to Idaho to visit family for Fourth of July. I also have my 13th birthday coming up on June 24th. I am still undecided about what I want to do to celebrate officially being a teenager but I am thinking 6 Flags would be fun. I love amusement park rides especially rollercoasters! I hope you have enjoyed this blog. Stayed tuned to find out all the updates on everything I have going on this summer.

Thanks for reading.

One thought on “School’s Out For the Summer!

Leave a Reply

