Get To Know Taylor Cox

Get to know our new 2015 Donna Coffee Youth Scholarship recipient, Taylor Cox.  Below is the essay Taylor submitted as part of of her application process.

Taylor Cox

Pictured: Taylor Cox, 2015 Donna Coffee Youth Scholarship recipient

Dear CTEBVI,

My name is Taylor Cox, and I live in Huntington Beach, California. I am eleven years old, and I am completely blind. When I was born, my eyes never formed. I have prosthetics to fill in for my original eyes. But that will never stop me! I enjoy music, going to Jiu-Jitsu, and I pitch count for my sister’s softball team.

If I were to get the scholarship, I would like to learn and buy recording equipment for music. Singing and piano are my life, and I would like to record music. In order to do this, I would need a microphone and software for my computer. Also, I would like to have private Jiu-Jitsu lessons. I would get better if I practiced really hard.

I selected these materials because they are fun for me. Also, what’s the point of life if I’m just sitting around, feeling sorry for myself because I’m blind? That would be a complete waste of time. Finally, these things motivate me to be a better person today because I’m engaging in activities that help me learn and keep me safe on the streets.
Getting the scholarship would really help me in many ways. First, receiving the scholarship would support me because I really want to pursue music. That would be awesome for me because it would help me get better known in the Music Industry. Also, Jiu-Jitsu will help me because I could grow in my game. On top of that, Jiu-Jitsu might inspire other kids, who are either blind or sighted, to think, “wow, this girl is doing this, maybe I could do it too.” That would be amazing.

I should receive the scholarship because it would really help me pursue my dream of being a musician. Also, my Jiu-Jitsu will help me with my self-defense on the streets. On top of that, it would be inspiring for other kids and adults alike. I would like to encourage blind kids to be out in the community. Lastly, I like to write, too. I would be excited to write in the blog. It would be remarkable to have the scholarship.

Thank you,
Taylor Cox

Leave a Reply

