Exit Interview

Heaven Vallejos

Pictured: Heaven Vallejos — Photo by: The Fresno Bee

As the year of Heaven Vallejos comes to an end, we thought we’d find out what  her experience has been like and asked her to share her thoughts in this fun CTEBVI “exit interview”:

CTEBVI:  How did you feel when you won the scholarship?
HV: I was pretty excited about it! I was happy I won it so that I could pay for some swim lessons. I had never won a scholarship before!

CTEBVI: What did you use the scholarship money for this year
HV: I used it for swimming lessons to help me compete in triathlons. I also used it for race registrations.

CTEBVI: What did you learn and why was it important to take these lessons?
HV:I learned how to stay under water for 30 seconds. I also learned the breaststroke and freestyle. I used those strokes for the triathlons.

CTEBVI: How do you feel now that your year as the DCYS recipient is over?
HV: Good. I enjoyed what I got to do. Also,it’s kind of sad because the year is over, but I hope the new winner gets to use the money for something enjoyable to them.

CTEBVI: What are three words you can use to describe this experience?
HV: Awesome, amazing, and fun.

CTEBVI: What was your highlight about this year?
HV: Doing the blog/vlog. I especially liked doing the heartbreaker video.

CTEBVI: What did you learn about yourself since receiving the scholarship?
HV: I learned that I need to build up my arm muscles so that I can hang on to a rope longer and let go when I’m over the water and not the rocks! Arm strength is good for the obstacles on a mud run, too! I learned that there are scholarships for visually impaired kids like me, and that is cool!

CTEBVI: What advice would you give to future DCYS recipients?
HV: Use the scholarship for something you love!

CTEBVI: What will you miss the most about the blog?
HV: Making videos and putting pictures up is fun.

CTEBVI: What do you want people to know about you?
HV: I am a good person. I am caring. I love sports! I like classic rock music and my favorite performer is Stevie Wonder!

CTEBVI: Anything else you would like to share?
HV: There are a lot of things going on in my life and it’s hard to pick. But, if I had to I would say that school gets more fun every year. If things seem hard I try to think about them in a different way. You should try different things even if they seem hard.

CTEEBVI: You have so many fans who want to know how you’re doing and what you’re up to. We would love to contact you from time to time to update us and we’ll post it to our social media accounts. Is this ok?
HV: Yeah! I would like that!

Leave a Reply

