Running for Sundaes!

Heaven & Sundae

Pictured: Heaven Vallejos and her post-5k sundae. Photo courtesy of: Heaven Vallejos

I hope everyone had a nice Thanksgiving. I went to my Grandma’s house. My dad deep fried a turkey and it was good. We ate candied yams with marshmallows on top and pumpkin cake. This year I’m thankful for family and friends

Heaven & Lisa

Pictured: (l-r) Heaven Vallejos, Lisa Fiorentino. Photo courtesy of: Heaven Vallejos/Lisa Fiorentino

On November 2, I ran the Two Cities 5K here in Fresno with my braille teacher. The race was fun and some people wore costumes. This race is usually only a half-marathon and marathon race, but this was the first time they had a 5K. A 5K is 3.1 miles. After the race they gave us free brownie sundaes, breakfast, and I got a free massage! After my twin brother heard I got a brownie sundae, he said he wanted to run next year, too. My next race is on December 7 and it is the Mara-Fun-Run in Sacramento. I ran this race last year for the first time. It was very cold, but fun! After the race I went to the Youth Paralympic Sport Experience where we did judo and goal ball.

My birthday is Thursday December 4th. I will be 11 years old. I’m having a party at my house after school. We are going to get a piñata! I like it when it breaks – it is like candy falling from the sky! If everyone wants to we will go ice skating too.

I want everybody to know that you can send me questions I will be happy to answer them. I have enjoyed writing for my blog. I hope it helps other visually impaired kids get excited about sports. I like sports because it makes me feel good. In the future I would like to try snow skiing and power lifting. Power lifting is where you lift weights in three different positions. I want to power lift because then if I ever have to lift a couch or a car I will be able to and I would be able to lift my cousins when they ask me to!
I will blog again in January. I hope everyone has happy holidays and I’ll be in touch in 2015!
Until then,
Heaven

4 thoughts on “Running for Sundaes!

  1. Hi Heather, i enjoy your blog! i too had deep fried turkey this year for the first time! i like the sound of pumpkin cake rather than pumpkin pie! hope you enjoy your Christmas

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Heaven, I want you to know that you are a kind friend and I’m so happy that you ran that race. And thank you for inviting me to your birthday party! your friend, Angel

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi, Heaven! My name is Taylor and I an eleven. Deep fried turkey sounds great. I am also blind, and I really like your blog. I think I would run for sundaes too. I also heard you wanted to go skiing. If you have good balance, you will be fine, I’ve been skiing before. Thanks so much for writing.
    From,
    Taylor
    P. S. How do you run three miles?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you everyone for supporting Heaven and our CTEBVI blog!

    Taylor, Angel, Judi and anyone else who is following our blog…Heaven wants to know what you think about her blog, running or her experiences!

    Please send any questions or comments you have for Heaven to us here and she might respond to them when we do our Q&A in a futute vlog (video blog) in the new year. Happy holidays, everyone!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

