Rope Swing of Pain

Heaven at Paul McCartney concert

Pictured (l-r): Allen, Lisa and Heaven at Paul McCartney Concert

October 14, 2014

When I posted my last blog I was getting ready to go to the King’s River for a weekend. It was really fun. We floated to Kelly’s Beach on a raft, and I went on a rope swing over the river that I now call the “rope swing of pain.” I wanted to swing over the river and drop into the water. When I swung off the bank of the river I went out far enough over the water, but I let go of the rope at the wrong time and fell into the shallow part of the water where there was a rock. I scraped my back on the rock and it hurt. Not fun like I thought it would be! I don’t know if I’ll try it again. Maybe I will if I could make sure there would be no rocks.

A week later I went to a running camp at the high school. We ran and then we got to swim. I went off the high dive for the first time ever. It was exciting! I think that next time I go off the high dive I might jump off backwards! I am enclosing a link to a video that shows me jumping. [Editors note:  come back next week for the video of Heaven’s jump off the high dive!]

A week after running camp, I went to see Paul McCartney in concert at Candlestick Park in San Francisco. I saw my braille teacher there and I’m enclosing a picture of her, me and my brother Allen that we took before the concert. It was a really good concert. The crowd was screaming with delight. Paul sang a song for his wife, there were fireworks, and there were three encores. This concert was extra special because it was the last event ever to be held at Candlestick Park. They are tearing it down.

Finally, school started and I started cross country again. At practice we did something new and ran backwards for a couple minutes. I’m not sure why, but I didn’t like it very much. It felt weird. Sometimes at Tuesday practices we get to run to Rite Aid and get ice cream! I get chocolate chip. It’s my favorite! Our first meet was a “fun run.” It means that they weren’t scoring, but the meets after that were scored, and we have won a couple of the meets.

Until next time,
Heaven

2 thoughts on “Rope Swing of Pain

  1. Angel says: ” I’m glad you had a good time at the concert and I’m especially glad we still get to see each other at archery! I like that I get to tell jokes with you on the bus.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

