California Chrome

Hi!
On July 20th I completed my second triathlon in Fresno,CA. It went good, but the swimming was the hardest part. I think it was because I didn’t have enough room on the tether and that made the guide too close. I felt like I needed more room to use my overhand stroke. I’ve learned that meeting my guides before the race is a good thing because I usually don’t know them and meeting them the day before gives us a chance to talk about things that can work for both of us. I can teach them some things I’ve learned from my other races. I plan on doing other triathlons. I will definitely do the San Diego Spring Triathlon next year and I will also do the Fresno I Can triathlon again. Running is the easiest part for me. I will be starting cross country when school starts, and l would like to run some more foot races and mud runs soon. Before this triathlon, my dad called me his “California Chrome” like the racehorse. I met a girl at the triathlon who is about 9 years old. She says she likes my catchphrase, “Time to kick some bootie!” I also met a girl at the race who lived in Siberia before she moved to Fresno. She is in 5th grade like me. Races are good places to meet people.

I swam a lot this sumer. I swam for fun, but I also took swim lessons (Thank you CTEBVI!) I also ran this summer. Today, I am getting ready to go camping with my family. We are going to go rafting on the King’s River. I have been on a raft on a lake, but never on a river, so this will be another first! I’m looking forward to roasting marshmallows over the campfire.
School starts soon. I’m sorry to see summer be over, but I’m really looking forward to starting 5th grade!

Here is a link to a video about my latest triathlon. Enjoy!

Until next time,
Heaven

Leave a Reply

