A Goal Reached

Heaven on a tandem bicycle participating in her first triathlon.

Photo by: ABC10 San Diego

On May 4th I participated in my very first triathlon. A man named Sam, saw my documentary and sent it to Dave White at the Blind Stokers Club in San Diego. Then they contacted a man by the name of Joe Stine and he called my dad. He told my dad that he would bring me and my family to San Diego, and pay for everything, so that I could participate in the Spring Sprint Itsy Bitsy Triathlon. With my scholarship money from CTEBVI, I was able to pay for swim lessons, so that I could get ready for the triathlon. I also practiced on the tandem bike, and on Friday, May 2nd we went to San Diego. We were given a nice room at the Hilton, and everyone who helped my family and I get to San Diego came to a dinner at Aqua on Friday night. It was a very fancy restaurant. I had duck for the first time and it was tasty! On Saturday, I went to the Challenged Athletes Foundation (CAF) gym and a man named Samuel gave us a tour. I got to ride a wheelchair hand cycle. It was cool! I also met my guide for the triathlon, Katarina, at the gym. On Sunday, we got up really early and went down to the beach for the triathlon. There were news stations and they interviewed me. I am attaching a link to one of the news stories. Katarina found us and we got ready for the race. The first event was swimming – in the bay! It was the first time I ever swam in the ocean. I had to swim 100 yards. I had a wet suit on, but it was still cold! I sort of warmed up, and only my hands were cold. I had a tether tied to my waist and Katarina held the other end in her hand while we swam, so that I didn’t swim off into the ocean. The next event was the bike. The bike part was three miles. I was the only tandem bike rider there. It was a little different from my tandem bike, and had skinnier wheels. Finally, we got to run. The run was ¾ of a mile. I was tired, but I did it and finished my first triathlon! Yay! I want to do another triathlon this summer. It was really fun! On Sunday afternoon, the Blind Stokers Club got us tickets to a Padres game. The game was exciting and the Padres beat the Diamondbacks. The Padres game was one of my favorite things of the weekend! I want to thank everyone that helped me realize my goal of being in a triathlon. You guys are awesome!

Until next time,
Heaven

To read a story about the triathlon: http://www.10news.com/sports/10-year-old-blind-girl-tackles-spring-sprint-triathlon-05042014

5 thoughts on “A Goal Reached

  1. My Heaven, your memory so amazes me how you remember everybody’s names and all. I was really impressed seeing the CAF gymnasium, even imagining to see you training there for the Olympics. Very proud of you and your self-determination and discipline that you demonstrated to reach your goal. The San Diego Spring Sprint Triathlon was such a memorable weekend we shared never to be forgotten. WOW, and Sam and all the wonderful people we met that networked to make this happen for you, VERY AMAZING!

    Like

  2. Heaven I am so proud of you and all your goals that you have reached.I know that once you put your mind to do something you never give up and go all the way. Cant wait to see what else you going to do but I know it will be great and amazing.!!

    Like

  3. Heaven , this is cousin Teresa, you are and will continue to be a true inspiration to many. I have to tell you that last week of school I showed my second graders your video on youtube and they were so in awe of you. Some of them even went home that night and showed their parents the video. Keep on doing what you are doing:) I love your blog!

    Like

  4. Heaven, you are an example of someone who adds sparkle to blind teamwork sports like swimming, biking, and running. Your spirit rewards blind/vi guides like Catharina and inspires members of the Blind Stokers Club to engage in partner sports. Such friendships extend beyond the playing field, to enrich us all. Come back to San Diego soon !

    Like

Leave a Reply

