Hi, My Name Is Heaven and I Like To Run

Hi, my name is Heaven and I like to run. I’m in fourth grade and I’m age 10. The first time I ran was at the Junior Blind Olympics on May 3, 2013. I ran the 50 yard dash twice – because it was fun and I wanted to. When school started this year I asked if I could run with the cross country team. Everyone liked the idea and they found a coach to run with me. His name is Coach Norm. He is also a singer and guitar player. My braille teacher, Lisa and my O&M teacher, Karen called the district newspaper and asked if they would like to do a story about me running. And the next thing I knew, there were news cameras and reporters from all the local stations at my practices and track meets. One of the news station, and a reporter Nick King, filmed my family and I for 3 months and made a mini-documentary about me. Here is a link if you would like to watch the documentary:  http://youtu.be/hO_gIm9PSFs

In December my twin brother and I turned 10 and the film crew came to our birthday party. I also ran a race in Sacramento. It was very cold, but I ran 2.6 miles, and it felt good.

I will write about some other fun stuff I have been doing in my next post. I plan on writing a new post every Wednesday until school gets out. After that, I hope to write once a month over the summer. Please send me questions, and I will be happy to answer them.

Don’t be afraid to do the things you want to do!

Until next time,
Heaven

9 thoughts on “Hi, My Name Is Heaven and I Like To Run

  1. Heaven, I like that you’re my friend and how we talk on the bus all the time. I think your blog is nice. I hope everyone sees it! Your friend, A

    Like

  2. Hi Heaven, This is cousin Teresa from Hanford. I am so proud of you and what you have done in such a short time. You are a true inspiration. May you reach all your goals that you have set for yourself. Love, Teresa

    Like

  3. Wow Heaven, I didn’t know you were a blogger too. You’re a very good writer. I can hear the Fun in your words. You have a busy life girly. Why only one post a month in the summer? I think you’ll have plenty of time. Was this your idea? I can’t wait for your next blog. Love,
    Aunt Jennifer

    Like

  4. Hi Heaven!

    This is your cousin, Olivia. Great blog post! I love this. Kalina and I will definitely be following! We are so proud of you! Keep up the good work!!

    Like

  5. My Heaven, don’t stop girl! Your showing us how its done. What an educational & fun journey you have taken us on!

    Like

Leave a Reply

